CANDLER COUNTY, GEORGIA

Board of Commissioners & Planning and Zoning Board Public Listening Session Wednesday, April 24, 2024 5:30 p.m. Wilcox Auditorium

AGENDA

- 1. Welcome and Introduction
- 2. Citizens who have notified the Board of Commissioner to offer comment
 - a. Chris Billingsley
 - b. Michelle Penn
 - c. Howard Googe
 - d. Barbara Bradley
 - e. Jason Love
 - f. James Hughes
 - g. Tim Spencer
 - h. Dixie Odom
 - i. Cecil Boatright
 - j. Jana Sasser
 - k. Jan Trapnell
 - 1. Melissa Krack
 - m. Donald Krack
 - n. David Moyer
 - o. Bobby Odom
 - p. Ben Franklin
 - q. Grady Franklin
 - r. Commissioner David Robinson
 - s. Brad Jones
 - t. Chairman Glyn Thrift
- 3. Close the Public Hearing

Board of Commissioners of Candler County Public Hearing April 24, 2024 5:30 p.m.

The Board of Commissioners of Candler County and the Planning & Zoning Board of Candler County held a public hearing on Wednesday, April 24, 2024, at 5:30 p.m. in the Jimmy Wilcox Auditorium located at 210 S. College Street, Metter, Georgia. The purpose of the public hearing was to receive citizen comments on the draft Candler County Zoning Ordinance.

Attendees from the included Chairman Glyn Thrift presiding with Vice-Chairman Blake Hendrix and Commissioners Gregory Thomas, Jeff Register and David Robinson present. Attendees from the Planning & Zoning Board included Chairman Jimmy Braddy with Vice-Chairman Miles Patterson, Jill Powell, Michael Byrd and Carlos Morales. County Administrator Bryan Aasheim, Planning & Zoning Administrator Crystal Rader, County Clerk Kellie Lank, County Attorney Kendall Gross with Attorney Cindy Delgado attended. Candler County Sheriff John Miles was also present. Jerri Goodman represented The Metter Advertiser.

Guests attending the public hearing included:

Bubba Longgrear, Morgan Trapnell, Jeffery Hilderbrandt, Donna Marchant, Ragen Marchant, Marilyn Dekle, Chris Spenser, Ben Franklin, Dixie Odom, Lee Durden, Randy Canady, Bowen Brown, Patrick Ferrell, Jan Trapnell, Ronny Flynt, Jason Franklin, Pam Brantley, Bill Mercer, Stacy Whitaker, Kris Storey, Travis Gunn, Ashley Morrison, David Krack, Danielle Krack, Gabe Krack, Carmen Smith, Kevin Penn, Baylee Penn, Michelle Penn, Jana Sasser, Sherri Patterson, Billy Patterson, Blake Patterson, Bobby Odom, Marty Franklin, Audra Lee, Brian Wood, John Garity, Lake Blackburn, Carol Hinojosa, Josh Davis, Robert Daniell, Richard Edenfield, Jan Bowers, Gary Bowers, Howard Googe, Linda Bankey, Jean Melton, Clara Monroe, Raul Manrique, Jimmy Lanier, Montell Lanier, John Jordan, Janice Jones, Jearl Jones, Bobby Mihalek, Shantha Mihalek, Melissa Krack, Grady Franklin, David Moyer, Brittney Jones, Brad Jones, Shelly Strange, Jonathan Williamson, Anne Childs, Kisha Monroe, Patrick Monroe, Bill Edenfield, Della Cowart, Jerry Cowart, Harold Lynn, Catherine Lynn, Jonathan Clark, Clara Frink, Beverly Wright, Larry Wright, Y'Lonne Hodges, C.L. Boatright, Laurie Martinez, Dillon Jackson, Kate Jackson, Jessica Luesa, Amir Gentry, Curtis Barlow, Kathy Hadden, Glenda Williams, Lydia Kobout, Donald Krack, Libby Scott, Dana Googe, Jim Carnes, Wallace Wright, Dana Boatright, Robert Bostwick, Dalante Hicks, Jasper Stone, John Miles, Billy Derham, Patsy Johnson, Michael Kobart, Debbie Wallace, Josh Brown, Dan Case, Jason grines, Agatha Grimes, Chris Billingsley, John Billingsley, Tre'Ross, Tim Spencer, Barbara Johnson, Carol Page, Charles Page, Bobi Bradley, Linda Waters, David Brown, David Googe, Dee Googe, Billy Wright, Ray Kirkland, Alvaro Morales, David Smith, Andy Durden, Beverly Hodges, Jason Love, Patrick Grower, Marion Badie, Devon Johnson, Tina Moore, Victoria Gaitten, Penny Moore, David Moore, Ricky Conner, Morgan Krislin, James Hughes, Ralph Clifton and Zach Daniel.

Administrator Aasheim opened the second Candler County Planning and Zoning Listening Session at 5:30 p.m. Citizens were previously made aware by public notice that anyone wishing to speak at the listening session could register ahead of time through the County Clerk to be placed on the agenda. However, Aasheim invited anyone interested in voicing their opinion a second opportunity to sign-up by adding their name on the speakers list at the sign-in station. He explained the public notice outlined the purpose for this gathering is for the Commissioners and the Planning & Zoning Board to hear public comments on the revised draft Zoning Ordinance and proposed zoning maps. Further, Aasheim explained any questions can be directed to himself or Crystal Rader at the Board of Commissioners office. Administrator Aasheim requested that all speakers step up to the microphone, announce their name and that all speakers will have five minutes to make their comments.

Administrator Aasheim called the following people up to make their comments on the proposed Candler County Zoning Ordinance and maps:

1. Chris Billingsley	2. Michelle Penn
3. Howard Googe	4. Barbara Bradley
5. Jason Love	6. James Hughes
7. Tim Spencer	8. Dixie Odom
9. Cecil Boatright	10. Jana Sasser
11. Jan Trapnell	12. Melissa Krack
13. Donald Krack	14. David Moyer
15. Bobby Odom	16. Ben Franklin
17. Grady Franklin	18. Commissioner David Robinson
19. Brad Jones	20. Chairman Glyn Thrift

A petition signed by One Hundred Fifty-two (152) Candler County citizens requesting Candler County be left AG and not be changed to R1, as referenced in the proposed zoning map, March 28, 2024. This petition was given to County Clerk, Kellie Lank, and will be retained at the Board of Commissioners Office.

Administrator Aasheim thanked everyone for their comments. He ended the listening session inviting others to contact him or the Board of Commissioners office to receive either paper or digital copies of the red-lined proposed Candler County Zoning Ordinance and or copies of the maps. The forum ended at 6:54 p.m.

Kellie Lank, Clerk	Glyn Thrift, Chairman